Title Image

Together in Europe

Social aspects: How colluvio came to be, where it leads to.

colluvio’s History, Mission and Perspectives

 

Parallel to and in accordance with its striving for high musical standards, colluvio is a project for understanding among nations and for encouraging a sense of Being Together in Europe.

The Austrian project colluvio sees itself as being a musical ambassador, that tries to further the communal values of Europe in an exemplary fashion. On the concert platform it not only demonstrates how communication between nations functions in an uncomplicated fashion, but at the same time can be inspiring, motivating and productive.

For this reason colluvio has attracted public interest and receives support from the Landesregierung Steiermark, the Austrian Foreign Office and from Austrian Cultural Institutions abroad. Relationships exist between Austrian Cultural Institutions in Belgrade, Zagreb, Sarajevo, Ljubljana, Budapest, Bratislava, Prague, Warsaw and Kiev.

Hornegg Castle, Styria, Austria

The story of its founding

 

In the year of colluvio’s founding 2001 Meinhard Holler – who had grown up at Gut Hornegg, Austria – invited young musicians for the first time to take part in a chamber music course that did not initially bear the name “colluvio”. It was, however, as it is today, a mixture of musicians from various countries. Young people from Austria, Germany and Serbia got together to play chamber music.

“The wars in Yugoslavia had only just come to an end, the diplomatic relations between the countries were difficult if not frosty”.

 

That first year in Austria only two concerts took place and so the players had the feeling that something was missing.

It was then that the rather exotic idea germinated that the following year concerts should also be arranged in Germany and Serbia. The Serbian members wanted to invite their German-speaking colleagues to Belgrade and give concerts in Serbia. The wars in Yugoslavia had only just come to an end, the diplomatic relations between the countries were difficult if not frosty.

It was just this situation that spurred the young musicians on to organise the co-operation of concerts reaching over the borders of their homelands. In the following year 2002 the plan came to fruition, and so it was that the first colluvio Tour with now seven concerts took place in Austria, Germany and Serbia.

2002. In front of the concert hall in Sremska Mitrovica, Serbia

En route the tour led them through the neighbouring countries of Croatia, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Slovenia, which one also wanted to include in plans for the future. Soon concerts were organised in the whole of former Yugoslavia with the best new-generation musicians from all these states taking part. Thus colluvio grew into a music project uniting peoples living in a crisis region.

 

Music unites people

colluvio 2003. Concert in Munich

The ORF Documentary Film about colluvio

 

In 2010 this development led to a special project in Kosovo. At the instigation of the film director Walter Weymeyer, he and his camera team accompanied and filmed colluvio over a period of nearly one month:

colluvio CONCERT TOUR 2010

In November 2009 Walter Weymeyer and Meinhard Holler set out for Kosovo to research the possibility of extending concerts to this part of the country in 2010 and for filming there. Walter Weymeyer sought suitable locations for filming, while Meinhard Holler was engaged in holding auditions in both the Albanian and the Serbian divisions of Kosovo.

Thus it was possible to engage the best students from the Music Academies in Priština (Albanian part) and Kosovska Mitrovica (Serbian part). Well-known concert halls in the region were booked.

In countless personal conversations the students had to be persuaded to take part in the project, aiming at bringing politically opposed peoples together. Many were anxious about the consequences, if their participation were to be discovered, if it would be spread in the media or via private relationships.

It was fear of public criticism and even more, fear of their own ethnic race. For this reason, right at the last moment, a Serbian girl from Kosovska Mitrovica stepped down from taking part. The reason for this was a fatal attack on the bridge over the river Ibar, that divides the Albanian and the Serbian districts of the town. A Serbian girl, only studying in Kosovska Mitrovica, but otherwise at home in Serbia, took her place.

The film maker Walter Wehmeyer and his team
Kosovo: Ruins left after the pogrom in Prizren 2004
Crisis talks in Priština: “What will happen if we can’t get over the bridge in Kosovska Mitrovica?”

From this material ensued the ORF Documentary Film “Music after the War, Kosovo between Trauma and new beginnings”, which turned out to be of artistic value and was broadcast by nearly all German-speaking TV stations, ORF, BR, ARD, WDR, NDR, SWF, 3 Sat, Arte, Deutsche Welle TV, Planet TV Germany….

Kosovo: Ruined buildings left after the pogrom in Prizren 2004

Music after the war – Kosovo between trauma and new beginnings

 

An ORF Documentary Film about colluvio

“For the first time, the Austrian cellist Meinhard Holler has succeeded in bringing together music students from peoples engaged for generations in conflict with one another (Serbs and Albanians)….”, so begins the synopsis of the film.

„Playing with the Enemy“

 

The colluvio film was seen on television by two scientists working at the University of Leiden in the Netherlands, which subsequently led to the next project:

In 2018 and 2019 colluvio layed its accent on the bringing together of music students from the Ukraine and Russia, again countries in conflict. Students from these two countries were given preference.

Colluvio 2019 was accompanied by the two scientists and musicians, Dr. Gisela Hirschmann and Dr. Niels van Doesum from the University of Leiden, Netherlands in the context of their research project concerning Music and Social Interaction.

Their research study “Playing with the Enemy” concerns the colluvio Chamber Music Academy along with Daniel Barenboim’s West-Eastern Divan Orchestra. Both institutions are compared with one another and the behaviour of the participants is analysed.

“Playing with the Enemy”. Ukrainians and Russians make music together. colluvio 2018

colluvio today and tomorrow

 

These days colluvio considers itself to be a peace initiative covering the whole of Europe in which the best new-generation musicians from all over the continent are invited to take part. As in its beginnings the tour initially leads from mid Europe to countries in the south and east.

Our accent still lies in the inclusion of regions that are noted for conflict. In further project planning  we want to include countries that are not yet members of the European Union. Considering the possible future inclusion of some eastern and south-eastern parts of Europe to the European Union, colluvio entertains the particular hope that it can bring about cultural exchange between mid-European countries and states in former Yugoslavia as well as parts of the former Soviet Union.

 

It is our aim to stabilise colluvio’s finances so that, in the near future, alternative concert routes might be possible. For example:

2023 Gut Hornegg – Vienna –  Prague –  Warsaw –  Vilnius –  Riga – Tallinn – St. Petersburg – Helsinki.

or

2024 Gut Hornegg –  Ljubljana –  Dubrovnik –  Sarajevo –  Belgrade –  Skopje –  Sofia Istanbul

Novi Sad
European Capital of Culture 2022

 

In 2022 we are planning to include the city of Novi Sad in our tour.

Novi Sad in Serbia is chosen for the European Capital of Culture 2022.
The town sprawls on both sides of the mighty Danube, which in some places has already reached a width of more than one kilometre. Bridges in the region have always played a large rôle.

During the bombardment of Serbia in 1999 Nato forces destroyed all of Novi Sad’s bridges, not all of which have yet been rebuilt. In the thematic “Novi Sad 2022” and also in reality, the four bridges over the Danube have been named Love – Freedom – Rainbow – Hope.

“The Danubian Sea” is one of the themes.
Colluvio has caught on to this idea and decided to direct its tour 2022 through countries bordering the 2,840-kilometre long river. We hope to connect towns and cities situated on its banks and give concerts there:

Gut Hornegg – Regensburg – Linz – Vienna – Bratislava – Budapest – Vukovar – Novi Sad –Belgrade

Extensive financial support will be necessary for the future of colluvio. Only if this is guaranteed can our new projects be carried out.

Title Image

Miteinander in Europa

Gesellschaft: Wie colluvio wurde, wohin es führt.

colluvio Geschichte, Mission und Perspektive

 

Parallel zu seinem hohen musikalischen Anspruch und im Einklang mit diesem, ist colluvio ein Projekt für Völkerverständigung, das zum Miteinander in Europa einlädt.

Das österreichische Projekt colluvio versteht sich als musikalischer Botschafter, der die gemeinsamen Werte Europas lebt. Es zeigt auf der Bühne, wie ein Miteinander der Nationen nicht nur reibungslos funktioniert, sondern höchst inspirierend, motivierend und produktiv sein kann.

So ist colluvio von öffentlichem Interesse und wird von der Steiermärkischen Landesregierung, vom Österreichischen Außenministerium und von den Österreichischen Kulturforen im Ausland gefördert. Es gibt Kooperationen mit den Österreichischen Kulturforen in Belgrad, Zagreb, Sarajevo, Ljubljana, Budapest, Bratislava, Prag, Warschau, Kiev.

Schloss Hornegg, Steiermark, Österreich

Die Gründungsgeschichte

 

Im colluvio Gründungsjahr 2001 lud Meinhard Holler, auf Gut Hornegg, Österreich aufgewachsen erstmals junge Musiker zu sich ein. Nach Hornegg kamen die ersten Teilnehmer des neuen Kammermusikkurses „colluvio“, das noch nicht so hieß, aber schon so war wie heute, eben ein musikalisches Völkergemisch:
Junge Menschen aus Österreich und Deutschland einerseits, und aus Serbien andererseits machten zusammen Kammermusik.

„Die Kriege in Jugoslawien waren erst vorüber, die diplomatischen Beziehungen zwischen den Ländern waren noch holprig bis frostig.“

 

Es gab damals nur zwei Konzerte in Österreich, und so beschlich alle Teilnehmer das Gefühl, etwas würde fehlen.

So wurde gleich die damals recht exotische Idee geboren, im Jahr darauf auch in Serbien und Deutschland zu konzertieren. Die serbischen Teilnehmer wollten ihre deutschsprachigen Kollegen nächstes Mal nach Belgrad einladen und mit ihnen auch in Serbien Konzerte spielen. Die Kriege in Jugoslawien waren erst vorüber, die diplomatischen Beziehungen zwischen den Ländern waren noch holprig bis frostig.

Die jungen Musiker forderte gerade dieser Umstand heraus, ein Miteinander zu wagen und sie beschlossen, über die Ländergrenzen hinweg Musik zu machen. Ihren Wunsch realisierten sie schon im Folgejahr 2002 und so entstand die erste colluvio Tournee, mit bereits sieben Konzerten in Österreich, Deutschland und Serbien.

2002. Vor dem Konzertsaal. Sremska Mitrovica, Serbien

Die Tournee führte ja auf dem Weg nach Serbien durch die Nachbarländer Kroatien, Bosnien-Herzegowina und Slowenien, so wollte man auch sie einbeziehen. Mit der Zeit wurde im ganzen ehemaligen Jugoslawien konzertiert, die besten Nachwuchsmusiker aus all diesen Ländern nahmen teil und so wurde colluvio zu einem völkerverbindenden Musikprojekt in einer Krisenregion.

 

Musik verbindet Menschen

colluvio 2003, Tourneekonzert München

Der ORF-Dokumentarfilm über colluvio

 

2010 gipfelte diese Entwicklung in einem Sonderprojekt Kosovo, das auf Anregung des Dokumentarfilmers Walter Wehmeyer umgesetzt und von ihm und seinem Kamerateam fast einen ganzen Monat lang begleitet und gefilmt wurde.

colluvio Chamber Music Academy TOURNEE_KONZERTE 2010

Im November 2009 begaben sich Walter Wehmeyer und Meinhard Holler auf eine Recherchenreise ins Kosovo, um das Musikprojekt und das Filmprojekt vom Sommer 2010 vorzubereiten. Walter Wehmeyer sah sich nach geeigneten Orten zum Drehen um, und Meinhard Holler nahm die ganzen Probespiele im albanischen und serbischen Teil des Kosovo ab.

So konnten die besten Studenten der Musikhochschulen Priština (albanischer Teil) und Kosovska Mitrovica (serbischer Teil) für das Projekt gewonnen werden. Die bekanntesten Konzertsäle des Landes wurden reserviert.

Die Studenten mußten in vielen persönlichen Gesprächen überzeugt werden, an dem völkerverbindenden Projekt mitzuwirken. Viele hatten Angst vor Konsequenzen, wenn ihr Mitwirken bekannt würde, in den Medien darüber berichtet oder über private Verbindungen verbreitet werden würde.

Es war die Angst vor der Öffentlichkeit der anderen, und noch mehr der eigenen Volksgruppe. So hat ein serbisches Mädchen aus Kosovska Mitrovica im letzten Moment ihre Mitwirkung aufgekündigt, verursacht durch einen tödlichen Anschlag auf der Brücke, die die Stadt in eine albanische und in eine serbische Hälft teilt. Eine Serbin, die nur in Kosovska Mitrovica studierte, ansonsten aber aus Serbien war, hat sie vertreten.

Dokumentarfilmer Walter Wehmeyer und sein Team
Kosovo: Hinterlassenschaft des Pogroms von Prizren 2004
Krisensitzung in Priština: "Was, wenn wir nicht über die Brücke in Kosovska Mitrovica kommen?"

Daraus entstand dann die ORF-Dokumentation „Musik nach dem Krieg, Kosovo zwischen Trauma und Neubeginn“, gleichzeitig ein überaus kunstvoller Film, der von fast allen deutschsprachigen Sendern ausgestrahlt wurde, ORF, BR, ARD, WDR, NDR, SWF, 3 Sat, Arte, Deutsche Welle TV, Planet TV Germany….

Kosovo: Hinterlassenschaft des Pogroms von Prizren 2004

Musik nach dem Krieg – Kosovo zwischen Trauma und Neubeginn

 

Ein ORF-Dokumentarfilm über colluvio

„Erstmalig ist es dem österreichischen Cellisten Meinhard Holler gelungen, Musikstudenten der seit Generationen in Konflikt stehenden Völker (Serben und Albaner) zusammen zu bringen….“, so der Anfang der Synopsis zum Film.

„Playing with the Enemy“

 

Den colluvio Film sahen zwei Wissenschaftler von der Universität Leiden, Niederlande im Fernsehen, was in der Folge zum nächsten Projekt führte:

Colluvio legte 2018 und 2019 den Schwerpunkt auf die Begegnung von Musikern aus den im Konflikt stehenden Ländern Ukraine und Rußland. Vorrang hatten Studenten aus diesen beiden Ländern.

Colluvio 2019 wurde durch die zwei Wissenschaftler und Musiker, Dr. Gisela Hirschmann und Dr. Niels van Doesum, von der Universität Leiden, Niederlande, im Rahmen ihres Forschungsprojekts zu Musik und sozialer Intesraktion begleitet.

Ihre Studie „Playing with the Enemy“ beschäftigt sich mit der colluvio Chamber Music Academy und mit Daniel Barenboims West-Eastern Divan Orchestra. Beide Institutionen werden miteinander verglichen. Die Intentionen und das Verhalten der Teilnehmer werden analysiert.

"Playing with the Enemy". Ukrainer und Russen musizieren. colluvio 2018

colluvio heute und morgen

 

Heute begreift sich colluvio als gesamteuropäisches Friedensprojekt, zu dem die besten Nachwuchsmusiker aus ganz Europa zur Teilnahme eingeladen sind. Die Tournee führt in alter Tradition auch heute nach einem mitteleuropäischen Auftakt in die Länder Ost- und Südosteuropas.

Schwerpunkte auf von Konflikten geprägte Regionen sind weiterhin ein wichtiger Inhalt. In unsere Projektplanung wollen wir weiterhin Länder miteinbeziehen, die noch nicht Mitglieder der Europäischen Union sind. Vor dem Hintergrund der Ost- und Südosterweiterung der Europäischen Union ist colluvio ein kultureller Austausch mit den Nachfolgestaaten des ehemaligen Jugoslawien und der ehemaligen Sowjetunion ein besonderes Anliegen.

 

Es ist unser Ziel, colluvio finanziell auf so stabile Beine zu stellen, daß in naher Zukunft alternative Routen auf der Konzerttournee möglich sind.
Beispielsweise
2023 Gut Hornegg – Wien – Prag – Warschau – Wilna – Riga – Tallin – St. Petersburg – Helsiniki.
oder
2024 Gut Hornegg – Ljubljana – Dubrovnik – Sarajevo – Belgrad – Skopje – Sofia – Istanbul

Novi Sad
Europäische Kulturhauptstadt 2022

 

2022 jedenfalls ist ein Tourneeverlauf in Zusammenhang mit der Stadt Novi Sad geplant:

Novi Sad in Serbien ist Europäische Kulturhauptstadt 2022.
Die Stadt erstreckt sich beiderseits des Donaustroms, der dort an manchen Stellen schon kilometerbreit ist, so haben Brücken in der Region immer eine große Rolle gespielt.

Beim Bombardement Serbiens 1999 hat die Nato alle Brücken der Stadt zerstört. Es sind noch nicht alle aufgebaut und so heißen in der Thematik von „Novi Sad 2022“, aber auch in Wirklichkeit die vier Brücken über die Donau Liebe – Freiheit – Regenbogen – Hoffnung.

„Das Meer Donau“ ist eines der Themen.
Dieses hat colluvio aufgegriffen und so wird die Tournee 2022 durch die Donauländer führen. Wir wollen acht von der Donau durchflossene Städte miteinander verbinden und dort Konzerte spielen:

Gut Hornegg – Regensburg – Linz – Wien – Bratislava – Budapest – Vukovar – Novi Sad – Belgrad

Für die Zukunft colluvios ist also eine breit angelegte Finanzierung nötig. Nur so können unsere neuen Projekte realisiert werden.